Vera Molnár

Vera Molnár

Born January 5 1924, Budapest

Vera Molnár is one of the first artists to systematically exploit the possibilities of the computer. Between 1942 and 1947, she studied painting, history of art, and aesthetics at the Magyar Képzőművészeti Egyetem in Budapest. She started to deal with non-objective geometrized painting during her studies. She attained a scholarship in Rome in 1947 and has lived in Paris since 1947. In 1960, she participated in the Concrete Art (Konkrete Kunst) exhibition, organized by Max Bill (1908-1994) in Zürich. In the same year she established Groupe de Recherche d’art Visuel (GRAV) in cooperation with Jesús Rafael Soto (1923-2005), Victor Vasarely (1906-1997), and Françoise Morellet (1926). The group promoted minimalistic tendencies and non-objective painting and laid the foundations for the later op-art and kinetic art. In 1967, she also participated in the establishment of Art et Informatique at the Institut d’Esthétique et des Science de l’Art in Paris. From the late 1960s she concentrated on computer graphics (1968) for which she and her husband François Molnar developed a special software called Molnart between 1974 and 1976. She also held the first independent exhibition in the London Polytechnic gallery in 1976. After a year working at the Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris (Atelier de Recherche des Techniques Avancées), she became a member of Centre de Recherche Expérimentale et Informatique des Arts Visuels (CREIAV) at the Université de Paris I, Sorbonne, where she was later habilitated as a professor. Her first book Ein Prozent Unordnung (One Percent Disorder) was published in Sweden in 1980. The first large installation was created for the Foundation of Concrete Art in Retlingen (1990). In 1999, Vera Molnár's large monographic exhibition Extrait de 100 000 milliards des lignes (Sample of 100 000 billion lines) took place at Centre de Recherche, d’Échange et de Diffusion pour l’Art Contemporain (CRÉDAC) in Ivry-sur-Seine, France.

Not in map

Muzeum umění Olomouc 2011-2016